New rats sneezing alot.

All topics on health, physique, vets, and medication
Miffyiscute4

New rats sneezing alot.

Post by Miffyiscute4 » Sat May 25, 2019 11:16 pm

Hello, I am new to owning pet rats. The only rodents I have owned are hamsters so I am not too knowledgeable about them. I brought my two male rats today (Wilf and Niffler) and when I was holding the carrier on the way home I noticed they were sneezing quite a lot. Also, I could see there was some porphyrin on their noses but not too much. Then when I was taming them in the bath they were sneezing a lot and there was quite a lot of porphyrin on Wilf's nose, even though he didn't seem to be sneezing too much compared to Niffler. Now they are still sneezing a lot but other than that they seem to be fine. They haven't seemed to have eaten too much, but I think that is to be expected as they are in a new environment and most likely new food. Is this just from the stress from moving or is it a respiratory infection? (I really hope its just stress :cry: ) I have been watching them and they are eating more now and there is less to no porphyrin on their noses. I haven't ever seen any on their eyes yet. Any help is appreciated and if needed I can take a video of the sneezing and I think I may have one from when they were in the carry case. Thanks :)

[cub]

Re: New rats sneezing alot.

Post by [cub] » Sun May 26, 2019 7:19 am

Stress due to being in a new environment is the most likely cause. If the rats are otherwise looking well in themselves, I wouldn't worry overmuch and just monitor it over the next few days. A bit of porphyrin is normal on a healthy rat, especially if they've just woken up and haven't had a wash yet. Their snot and eye gunk are just tinged red by default. Everyone's allowed the odd sneeze too.