Intro advice :)

Topics on behaviour, taming, companionship, introductions, and training
Snezzer1

Intro advice :)

Post by Snezzer1 » Fri Nov 20, 2015 8:29 am

Hi Guys,

I've never done intro's before so have been doing a lot of research first as am quite nervous.

I have 5 girls two are approaching 20 months, the others are 16-17 months.

I tried to introduce a new girl to the group, took it very slowly and tried an into in the bath last night. The alpha (20 months) established dominance straight away and the other older lady seemed to get on okay with her no issue.

She didn't sumbit with two of the 17 month olds and they started to fluff up and karate kick a bit, I waited for a few minutes hoping the would sort it out but it carried on they had a scufffle which ended up with the newcomer being scratched so i separated them.

The newcomer is lovely but very nervous, she is an albino and her eyesight is not great so it is probably making her more nervous poor thing.

Just a bit nervous and appreciating some advice on what to do next !

thanks

cyber ratty
Fancy Rats Team

Re: Intro advice :)

Post by cyber ratty » Fri Nov 20, 2015 10:13 am

Follow the carrier method - details are here.

Snezzer1

Post by Snezzer1 » Fri Nov 20, 2015 1:19 pm

Thanks mary:), ive got them in the carrier now as the bath intro seemed to be going okay, still fluffing and scuffles she keeps rearing up she's not fluffed (the new girl). Keeping a very close eye on them is the rearing up a bad thing or maybe she's feeling defencive poor thing

Snezzer1

Post by Snezzer1 » Fri Nov 20, 2015 3:26 pm

I've got a ratty pile result !!! :birthday: :birthday: :birthday:

cyber ratty
Fancy Rats Team

Post by cyber ratty » Fri Nov 20, 2015 3:35 pm

Good :luck:

The rearing up is an important part of the process so that they can literally size each other up. ;)

Snezzer1

Post by Snezzer1 » Fri Nov 20, 2015 5:46 pm

Thanks for your advice is really appreciated !