Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Fancy Rats Forum » Rat Care » Habitat

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Post subject: Time to halve my SRS - 2 rats
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:11 am 

So after 7 years of keeping rats I am down to my last 2. I'm sadly thinking I'm going to take a break after these guys and see how I feel.....

I have an srs and the rats have access to both levels but I'm thinking do they only need half. They tend to choose to stay in the top anyway as its where I scatter feed etc but I'm torn with feeling mean and losing half but not sure if they need it etc

Any thoughts ?

Post subject: Re: Time to halve my SRS - 2 rats
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:40 am 

What a sad decision to make. I've been keeping rats for 5 years myself and thinking of giving myself another 9 years (when I'm 60). I currently have 6 boys who tend to spend all of their time at the bottom of their SRS and have been thinking of doing the same. I don't think it is mean, half an SRS is still plenty of space for 2 rats. If that is all the space they use then they won't notice any diferrence anyway :lol:

Post Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 9:41 am 
Fancy Rats Team

Is there any real point in reducing the size? I agree that half is certainly plenty of space for 2 but if there's no other reason to close off the other half then I'd keep it open. Maybe set the other half up in a totally different way so that they have a living half and a play/discovery half?

my websites: Cyber Rats (picture site) / Zephyr Stud (rattery site)

Post Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:38 pm