Working out nutrient balance in a custom gluten free rat mix

Topics on mixes, tailored diets, foods, supplements, methods, and problem eaters
chaos_amoeba

Working out nutrient balance in a custom gluten free rat mix

Post by chaos_amoeba » Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:59 pm

Hello everyone!

Newbie here looking for advice from experienced ratters :)

My husband is a coeliac and we have recently taken on three fab little bucks. They've been on Supreme Science Selective with a bit of Mix7 from RatRations thrown in once in a while to keep life interesting, but it is looking increasingly likely that I'm going to have to formulate a custom rat food that is both perfect for ratties and also gluten free, because my coeliac is starting to show symptoms of low dose, repeated gluten exposure and the rats' food is the only gluten source allowed in the house, so...

I'm looking at recreating RR Mix7 for them without the gluten-containing ingredients - I've been in touch with RatRations, who advise this approach, too. I've so far looked into the Protein, Fat and Fibre content of each of the (30+!!!) ingredients in Mix7 and worked out the ratio to mix them all to match the supreme science food on protein % and fat % (will be slightly higher fibre but I guess that's ok). [Note: will share spreadsheet if anyone *asks* but is a bit dull! I guess someone might find my list of nutrient compositions of rat food ingredients useful one day].

I'm also looking at adding a bit of gf dog kibble to the blend, because it contains loads of added vitamins and minerals (inc copper, calcium and D3), but can't use too much as it contributes a lot of protein and fat (I think it's suitable at about 5-10% of their food, but not more). Similarly, I'm thinking of including RatRations insectivorous feast at about 3% and a little kelp and spirulina powder.