Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Fancy Rats Forum » Rat Care » Other care

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Post subject: URGENT - Baby Wild Rat Found
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 7:34 am 

Hi,

Long story so bear with me!

I family friend called me last night as they had found a baby rat – he was in a bucket outside with his dead brother and it was rapidly filing with rain water.

She rescued him and warmed him up and he ate a few beans!

He is definitely wild but very young – younger than would be allowed to be away from his mother but he seems to be eating solid food.

He seems to be fine this morning but hasn’t touched any food overnight – I’m a little concerned as rather than hiding away (as I would expect from a wild rat) he is just sitting in the corner of the cage and doesn’t look too happy.

So! What should I do?

I have had rats before and was an active member on the forum a few years ago – before it got updated – I’m no expert but I wouldn’t like to think I was a novice either.

I just have never been in this situation and don’t have a clue what to do!

1. Should I take him to the vets?
2. Should I give him different food?
3. Should I handle him?

He is currently in a small cage with food, water, bedding etc.

I am based in Warrington!

All advice appreciated!

Thank you!

Post subject: Re: URGENT - Baby Wild Rat Found
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 7:44 am 
Fancy Rats Team

He will be extremely neophobic so will be wary of food he's not eaten before (in case it turns out to be poisonous) - I would keep offering the food you've already given and he should start eating proper amounts within a couple of days (once he's discovered it's not poisonous).

Does he seem ill? I'm surprised he wasn't able to jump out of the bucket, and given that his brother was dead, is there any chance that they came into contact with poison... have any of your neighbours been using pest control?