Can blood glucose meters be used on rats?

Discussions relating to all aspects of a rat's health and physique
Locked
User avatar
Birds_Will_Fly
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Can blood glucose meters be used on rats?

Post by Birds_Will_Fly » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:49 pm

My rat has recently been diagnosed with diabetes. Can human glucose meters be used on rats? Or is there an animal equivalent? It would be much easier and less stressful to monitor at home surely?
Birtleby, Yarrow, Wolfram, Myrth, Tudor, Spook & Rommel

RIP Throttle, Modo, Batty, Dorian Gray.

User avatar
nmt100
Posts: 1012
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 7:17 pm
Location: Liverpool

Re: Can blood glucose meters be used on rats?

Post by nmt100 » Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:14 pm

I think I've read papers of animal studies that have used them to approximate glucose concentration. At the end of the day glucose is glucose regardless of the animal. Its worth considering how you would get a blood sample, how often he'd need testing and is there a large difference between normal rat and human glucose levels. Other issue is controlling food intake to make sure glucose is the same every time you test it.
The rats: Willow, Cissi, Bella and Digit. The gerbils: Clara and Oswin
Not forgettting those at the bridge - play hard and run free :rattyrainbow:

Locked

Return to “Health”