Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Fancy Rats Forum » Information (under review) » Tutorials

Page 1 of 1 [ 1 post ] 

Post subject: Crochet Cargo Net
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:25 am 

I've just crocheted a cargo net for my ratties. I'm sure I'm not the first to do so and I did do a search on here and the old forum for 'crochet cargo net' and 'crochet rat hammock' and didn't find anything so I apologise if I'm behind the times and just re-hashing what others have already done!

I bought a 40m nylon washing line and a 20m guy line from the poundshop with the intention of making the cargo nets as I have been doing for a while since finding the awesome instructions on here but I hit upon the idea of using the lines as yarn to make a cargo net thats has smaller holes in... to accomodate my oldie girl who is a little wobbly at times :(

I've never written a pattern before but I think anyone who has crocheted for a while will get the gist and can perhaps decifer it for me into a proper pattern :D

A 10mm hook is plenty big enough for standard washing line and the guy line that was 3mm thick. I tend to use Bamboo hooks but the line I used requires a fair bit of pulling and tugging so I would recommend an acrylic one (I used a Pony branded one because the 'v' on the hook is really deep). You could use rope for this but I think that given the price of the rope itself and the fact that you would need 20 or 30mm hook (and I've only ever seen those mde by Brittany Hooks- which is expensive!) It wouldn't work out any cheaper to make than buying one for £8. Hving said that I have a duetto and the cargo nets you buy are woefully small for my cage so it might actually be worth considering it so that I can make a cargo net or ramp large enough for the cage.

Working your chain in sets of two, chain the rquired length for your hammock/cargo net.

Row 1: htr in the 3rd ch from the hook, *ch 1, sk 1 ch, htr.
Repeat from * to end of chain
Ch3, turn