Is my boy getting too aggressive and should he be neutered?

Topics on behaviour, taming, companionship, introductions, and training
Spikeandcrumble

Is my boy getting too aggressive and should he be neutered?

Post by Spikeandcrumble » Wed Feb 03, 2021 10:17 pm

Hi newbie here so any and all help gratefully received. We have 2 brothers spike and crumble we have had them 2 months now and they are 4.5 months old, all has been great we have fell in love with them, but we are seeing issues with crumble becoming increasingly aggressive to poor spike who’s a little sweetheart. crumble is chasing spike around the cage a lot and spike runs for his life! If he catches him he pins him and dominates him which at 1st I thought was fine as it was all part of the dominance hierarchy but crumble is getting move aggressive and as a result spike has had a few scratches on his body and tonight there was a big fight in the bottom of the cage which resulted in spike screaming and running to hide in the Sputnik. A lot of the issues start around feeding, I scatter feed and make sure the food is all over the cage, which was working but now crumble has become wise to this and will literally scofff anything he can find on the bottom of the cage and then bully and harass spike wherever he is eating until spike runs away. Should I be thinking about neutering?

cyber ratty
Fancy Rats Team

Re: Is my boy getting too aggressive and should he be neutered?

Post by cyber ratty » Thu Feb 04, 2021 7:49 am

Welcome to the forum :D

Yes, sounds like a classic case of excess hormones. Neutering should make a big difference, but he's still quite young so leave it another month if you can to give him more time to grow, although you need to balance that with Spike's needs.

For future consideration, rats do best in groups of 3 or more for lots of reasons, but bullying is one of them as then a bullied rat can share the heat with another, or the third rat can help diffuse tensions.

Spikeandcrumble